Party Structure and Organisation

Thousands of Conservative members help organise and campaign for the Party on a voluntary basis. They run their local Associations and collectively give tens of thousands of hours of their time every year to help the Party. They campaign all year round, delivering leaflets, surveying and contacting voters in their local area. Our volunteers are also the people who raise the money to run the Party across the country, through membership subscriptions and holding local and national events.  Discussion groups around political topics are also organised across the country and there are numerous specialist groups and committees based around community and other interests.

Each local Association corresponds to a single or group of parliamentary constituencies. While Associations vary in size, they all follow a similar structure. Officers of the Association are elected annually by local members to positions that include President, Chairman, and two Deputy Chairmen – a Deputy Chairman Membership & Finance and a Deputy Chairman Political. Most also have officers with specific responsibilities and an Executive Council, which draws representatives from the Wards and committees that cover their boundaries.

Areas and Regions

For organisational purposes, the country is broken up into Regions, with each Region containing a number of Areas. Both Regions and Areas also have a similar officer structure to constituencies – namely Regional and Area Chairman, and Deputy Chairmen for Membership & Financial and Political matters.

The National Convention

The National Convention is effectively the parliament of the Voluntary Party. It is comprised of all Association Chairmen, officers from the Areas and Regions as well as representatives from the Conservative Women’s Organisation. The Convention meets at least twice a year – usually during Spring Forum, with another gathering at Party Conference.

The most senior volunteers within the Conservative Party are the Officers of the National Convention; led by the Chairman, they represent the views of the Voluntary Party to the leadership of the Party. The Chairman of the Convention is also a Deputy Chairman of the Board of the Conservative Party. The President is the Chairman of the Party Conference and there are also three Vice Presidents. All five officers are elected annually and also sit on the main Board of the Party.

Members of the Board

The Board is the ultimate decision-making body of the Conservative Party. It is responsible for all operational matters including fundraising, membership and candidates. It is made up of representatives from each section of the Party – voluntary, political and professional.

The Board of the Conservative Party

Richard Holden MP Chairman of the Conservative Party and Chairman of the Board
Lord Booth Chairman of the National Conservative Convention and Deputy Chairman of the Board
Nickie Aiken MP Deputy Chairman of the Party
Graham Edwards Treasurer of the Conservative Party
Peter Smallwood President of the National Conservative Convention and Conference Chairman
Fleur Butler Vice President of the National Conservative Convention
Julian Ellacott Vice President of the National Conservative Convention
Michael Winstanley Vice President of the National Conservative Convention
Alan Mabbutt OBE Senior member of the professional staff of the Party
Cllr Phil Broadhead Chairman of the Conservative Councillors’ Association
Craig Hoy MSP Chairman, Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party
Cllr Tomos Davies Chairman, Welsh Conservatives
Matt Wright Appointed by the Leader pursuant to Rule 12.10 of the Constitution
Katy Bourne OBE Appointed by the Board pursuant to Rule 12.12 of the Constitution
Rt Hon Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Chairman, Association of Conservative Peers
Sir Graham Brady MP Chairman of the 1922 Committee
Bob Blackman CBE MP Elected pursuant to Rule 12.13 of the Constitution
David Morris MP Elected pursuant to Rule 12.13 of the Constitution
Richard Graham CMG MP Elected pursuant to Rule 12.13 of the Constitution



Secretary to the Board Roger Pratt CBE

Sign up to lock in our clear plan

Secure Britain’s Future