Jonathan Evans

Member of Parliament for Cardiff North

Jonathan returned to Westminster at the 2010 General election, winning Cardiff North from Labour’s Julie Morgan. He is the Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Insurance and Financial Services and is also the co-Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Building Societies and Financial Mutuals.

Jonathan was first elected to Parliament in 1992 when he won Brecon and Radnor. His first Government appointment was as Parliamentary Private Secretary to the then Minister of State for Northern Ireland, Michael Mates (1992-1994). He was subsequently Corporate Affairs Minister at the DTI (1994-1995); Parliamentary Secretary to the Lord Chancellor (1995-1996); and Under Secretary of State for Wales (1996-1997).

Jonathan’s Parliamentary career was interrupted in 1997 when he was one of the Conservative MPs who lost their seat at the General Election. He served the party from outside Parliament as its Chief Spokesman for Wales at the end of the 1990s.

In 1999, Jonathan was elected as the Conservative MEP for Wales, a seat he would hold for 10 years before standing down in 2009.  During his time in Brussels, he was the leader of the Conservative delegation between 2001 and 2004; and then between 2004 and 2009, the President of the European Parliament’s Delegation for Relations with the US Congress.

Jonathan is the Chairman of the Association of Conservative Clubs. A solicitor by background, he has also served as the Deputy Chairman of Tai Cymru (the Welsh Housing Corporation) and the Welsh Sports Centre for the Disabled.

Postcode to constituency lookup provided by They Work For You.
Big Ben
Contact Your MP
Jonathan Evans
54 Old Church Road Whitchurch Cardiff CF14 1AB

t: 029 2061 3539
UK Map
Contact Your Local Association
Cardiff North
Rhymney House
1-2 Copse Walk
Cardiff Gate Business Park
CF23 8RB

t: 029 2073 3225