Party Structure and Organisation

Almost all of the Conservatives who work for the Party do so on a voluntary basis. They run their local Associations and donate tens of the thousands of hours of their time every year to help the Party. They campaign all year round, delivering leaflets and canvassing voters in their local area. Our volunteers are also the people who raise the money to run the Party across the country, through membership subscriptions and holding events in their local area.

Each local Association corresponds to a parliamentary constituency. While Associations vary in size, almost all follow the same structure. Officers of the Association are elected annually to positions that include President, Chairman, and two Deputy Chairmen – a Deputy Chairman Membership and a Deputy Chairman Political. Most also have officers with specific responsibilities and an Executive Council, which draws representatives from the Wards that make up constituencies.

Areas and Regions

For organisational purposes, the country is broken up into Regions, with each Region containing a number of Areas. Both Regions and Areas also have a similar structure to constituencies - namely Regional and Area Chairman, and Deputy Chairmen for Membership and Political.

The National Convention

The National Convention is effectively the parliament of the Voluntary Party. It is comprised of all Association Chairs, officers from Areas and Regions as well as 42 representatives from Conservative Future and the Conservative Women's Organisation. The Convention meets twice a year – its Annual General Meeting is usually held at Spring Forum, with another meeting usually held at Party Conference. Its purpose is to receive the Annual Report, elect the Convention’s new officers and to set the Voluntary Party’s direction.

The most senior volunteers within the Conservative Party are the Officers of the National Convention; led by the Chairman, they represent the views of the Voluntary Party to the leadership of the main Party. The Chairman of the Convention is also a Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party. The President is the Chairman of the Party Conference and there are also three Vice Presidents. All of these five senior volunteers are elected at Spring Forum, and also sit on the main Board of the Party.

Members of the Board

The Board is the ultimate decision making body of the Conservative Party. It is responsible for all operational matters including; fundraising, membership and candidates. It is made up of representatives from each section of the Party - the voluntary, political and professional:

  • Rt Hon David Cameron MP - Leader of the Conservative Party
  • Lord Feldman of Elstree - Chairman of the Board of the Conservative Party
  • Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP - Conservative Party Chairman
  • Michael Farmer - Treasurer, Conservative Party
  • Emma Pidding CBE - Deputy Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the National Conservative Convention
  • Cllr Gary Porter - Chairman of the Conservative Councillors' Association
  • Stephen Gilbert - Director of Campaigning and the Party Leader's Appointment to the Board
  • Ashley Fox MEP - Leader of the Conservatives in the European Parliament
  • Jonathan Evans MP - Chairman of the Welsh Conservative Party
  • Simon Day - Registered Treasurer
  • Rt Hon Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market OBE - Chairman of the Association of Conservative Peers
  • Graham Brady MP - Chairman of the 1922 Committee
  • Rob Semple - President of the National Conservative Convention
  • Brian Binley MP - MP on the Board of the Conservative Party
  • James Wharton MP - MP on the Board of the Conservative Party
  • Charles Walker MP - MP on the Board of the Conservative Party
  • Steve Bell - Vice President of the National Conservative Convention
  • Gerry Yates - Vice President of the National Conservative Convention
  • Tiz Baskerville - Vice President of the National Conservative Convention
  • Richard Keen Q.C. - Chairman, Scottish Conservative Party
  • Stephen Phillips - Secretary to the Board