Find your local Conservatives


JOIN US Help us turn Britain around

Join today

Keep up to date
Get the latest Conservative news sent straight to you

Large Branding Image

Anne McIntosh

Member of Parliament for Thirsk and Malton

Tel: 01845 523 835 / Fax: 020 7219 0972 / House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA.
Email: / Web:

Anne McIntosh

Anne was elected to the new Constituency of Thirsk, Malton and Filey after a delayed election on 27th May 2010. Anne had previously been the Member of Parliament for the Vale of York since 1997.

Anne was educated at Harrogate Ladies College, and studied at the Universities of Edinburgh and Aarhus in Denmark.

After qualifying as a Scottish Advocate in June 1982, Anne practiced law in Edinburgh and Brussels and then worked for the Conservatives in the European Parliament between 1983 and 1989.

Anne's Experience

Anne fought Workington, Cumbria, for the Conservatives in the 1987 General Election and served as the Member of the European Parliament for North East Essex (1989-94) and North Essex and South Suffolk (1994-99), acting as Assistant Whip between 1989 and 1992 and as Conservative Transport Spokesman between 1992 and 1999.

Following her election as the Member of Parliament for the Vale of York in 1997, Anne was appointed to the House of Commons Environment, Transport and the Regions Select Committee, and the European Scrutiny Select Committee. In December 2000, she was elected to the Executive of the Conservative Backbench 1922 Committee, before being appointed a Shadow Minister for Culture, Media and Sport in 2001. In July 2002, Anne was appointed a Shadow Minister for Transport. In November 2003, she became a Shadow Minister for Environment & Transport.

In May 2005, Anne was appointed as Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs, and in December 2005 was appointed Shadow Minister for Work & Pensions. In November 2006, Anne was appointed as a Shadow Minister for Education. In July 2007, she was appointed as a Shadow Minister for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs.

In May 2010 Anne was returned as the MP for the newly formed constituency of Thirsk and Malton.
In June 2010, Anne was elected Chairman of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee. Anne was also elected as the Chairman of the All Party Groups on Denmark; South Africa; Floods; Water; and Environmental Quality.

Campaigning in Thirsk, Malton and Filey

  • In 1999 Anne introduced Ten Minute Rule Bill for the Prevention of Delay in Trials
  • In 2005 Anne introduced the Criminal Law (Amendment) (Protection of
    Property) Bill
  • In 2009 Anne introduced the Theft from Shops (Use of Penalty Notices for
    Disorder) Bill.
  • In 2013 Anne presented the Offshore Gambling Bill.
    Anne has campaigned for some time to have the funding formula for North Yorkshire NHS reviewed.

Outside Politics

Anne lives near Thirsk with her husband John, who is a business executive. She is a keen swimmer and also enjoys reading, country pursuits and speaks French, Danish, Spanish, German and some Italian.