Find your local Conservatives


JOIN US Help us turn Britain around

Join today

Keep up to date
Get the latest Conservative news sent straight to you

Large Branding Image

Nick Hurd

Member of Parliament for Ruislip Northwood and Pinner

Parliamentary Secretary, Cabinet Office

Tel: 020 7219 1053 / Fax: 020 7219 4854 / 128 Hallowell Rd, Northwood, Middlesex, HA6 1DU
Email: / Web:

Nick Hurd

Born in 1962, Nick is a graduate of Oxford University, he is married to Clare and has two sons and two daughters from a previous marriage.

Before entering politics, he developed a business career over 18 years which gave him the experience of running his own business and representing a British bank in Brazil (1995-1999). This background forged Nick’s political ambitions to help Government be more effective in supporting those trying to build businesses in Britain.

He has been a private sector adviser to the British Government (British Trade International) on export advice for British companies, and set up the Small Business Network to advise the Shadow DTI team on the priorities of the Small Business Sector.

Outside politics, his interests lie in sport, music and helping young people realise their potential. He is a trustee of the Greenhouse schools charity and a governor of Coteford Junior school.

Nick Hurd's Experience

Nick was elected as the Member of Parliament for Ruislip,-Northwood in May 2005. Nick went into politics to serve his country. He is following in the footsteps of three generations of Conservative Members of Parliament in his family.

Prior to being elected to Parliament, he worked as Chief of Staff to Tim Yeo MP. During that time he had the opportunity to work closely on the development of Conservative policies for better schools, hospitals, transport and environment.

In July 2007, Nick was appointed as an Opposition Whip and in October 2008 joined the Cabinet Office team.

In May 2010, Nick joined the Cabinet Office as Minister for Civil Society.

In September 2012, Nick was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Cabinet Office.