JOIN US Help us turn Britain around

Join today

Keep up to date
Get the latest Conservative news sent straight to you

News story

Reshuffle shows Cameron means business

Thursday, September 6 2012

Prime Minister David Cameron

Speaking this morning following the reshuffle the Prime Minister said:

“It demonstrates that the Government absolutely means business. I’ve told all of them the economy is the priority whatever your job, whether you’re in charge of education or the Foreign Office there’s something you can do to grow and boost our economy.

“We’re all part of one vital mission which is to get the debt down and get the economy moving.”

Full list of Cabinet Ministers and Cabinet attendees:

Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service
Rt Hon David Cameron MP

Deputy Prime Minister, Lord President of the Council (with special responsibility for political and constitutional reform)
Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP

Foreign and Commonwealth Office
First Secretary of State, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs – Rt Hon William Hague MP
Senior Minister of State – Rt Hon Baroness Warsi (jointly with the Department for Communities and Local Government)

HM Treasury
Chancellor of the Exchequer – Rt Hon George Osborne MP
Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Rt Hon Danny Alexander MP

Home Office
Secretary of State for the Home Department – Rt Hon Theresa May MP

Ministry of Defence
Secretary of State for Defence – Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP

Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills; and President of the Board of Trade – Rt Hon Dr Vincent Cable MP
Minister of State (Universities and Science) – Rt Hon David Willetts MP

Department for Work and Pensions
Secretary of State for Work and Pensions – Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP

Ministry of Justice
Lord Chancellor, Secretary of State for Justice – Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

Department for Education
Secretary of State for Education – Rt Hon Michael Gove MP
Minister of State – Rt Hon David Laws MP (jointly with the Cabinet Office**)

Department for Communities and Local Government
Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government – Rt Hon Eric Pickles MP
Senior Minister of State (Faith and Communities) – Rt Hon Baroness Warsi  (jointly with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office)

Department of Health
Secretary of State for Health – Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP

Department for International Development
Secretary of State for International Development – Rt Hon Justine Greening MP

Scotland Office
Secretary of State for Scotland – Rt Hon Michael Moore MP

Department of Energy and Climate Change
Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change – Rt Hon Edward Davey MP

Department for Transport
Secretary of State for Transport – Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP

Department for Culture, Media and Sport
Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport; and Minister for Women and Equalities – Maria Miller MP

Northern Ireland Office
Secretary of State for Northern Ireland – Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP

Wales Office
Secretary of State for Wales – David Jones MP

Office of the Leader of the House of Lords
Leader of the House of Lords, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster – Rt Hon Lord Strathclyde

Office of the Leader of the Commons
Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal – Rt Hon Andrew Lansley CBE MP

Ministers without Portfolio (Minister of State)
Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP
Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP & Co-Chairman of the Conservative Party

Cabinet Office
Minister for the Cabinet Office, Paymaster General – Rt Hon Francis Maude MP
Minister for Government Policy – Rt Hon Oliver Letwin MP
Minister of State – Rt Hon David Laws MP* (jointly with the Department for Education)

Whips – House of Commons
Chief Whip (Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury) – Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP

Law Officers
Attorney General – Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP*
* attends Cabinet when Ministerial responsibilities are on the agenda